Latest News

Manchester City 1 - 2 Wigan Athletic

Monday March 10, 2014Manchester City 1 - 2 Wigan Athletic

By Rhonda Richards | In Match Reports - Home Games

Manchester City were shocked by Wigan Athletic in the FA Cup as the Championship side ended the hosts’ hopes of a quadruple, once again proving to be City’s bogey side in the competition as they emerged with a 2-1 victory to move into the semi-final.

Wigan, winners of the competition having beaten City in the final last year, came into the game on the back of five straight wins, including three on the road, but the bookmakers could see no further than Manuel Pellegrini’s side, which included a start for Micah at right-back.

The visitors certainly weren’t intimidated and it was they who went in front after Martin Demichelis was judged to have brought Marc-Antoine Fortune down in the box. Jordi Gomez stepped up to convert the spot-kick and shock the home crowd on a glorious spring day in Manchester.

Pellegrini will have expected a huge improvement in the second half but Wigan moved further ahead with just two minutes of the second half gone. James Perch beat Gael Clichy at the back post and fired beyond Costel Pantilimon to make it 2-0.

The despairing Pellegrini made his move, making three changes to try to spark some life into his side, and it worked. First, Edin Dzeko hit the post with a header, before Sergio Aguero forced Scott Carson into a good stop.

Micah turned provider moments later as City hauled themselves back into it, heading down to Samir Nasri who fired through a crowd of players to make it 2-1.

It was all the home side, with City parked in the Wigan half, but Uwe Rosler’s defended resolutely to hold on to the win and move into the last four. For City, it was a disappointing afternoon after the highs of the Capital One Cup final last weekend, but they will pick themselves up for the Champions League clash away at Barcelona.

Man City: Pantilimon; Richards, Demichelis, Lescott, Clichy; Navas, Toure, Garcia, Nasri; Negredo, Aguero.

Wigan: Carson; Perch, Boyce, Ramis, Crainey; McCann, McArthur, McEachran, McManaman; Gomez, Fortune.